New York City // preparations

Hi Guys!
What’s a better way to start my brand new blog than by sharing the most exciting thing going on in my life right now?

I’m going to New York City! 

tumblr_n48pochAhA1sv439xo1_500

I’ve been wanting to go to New York for as long as I can remember, it has been such a big dream for so long and now it’s really happening!

The best thing about traveling is all the pre-fun, I love preparing my trips by reading travel guides, blog posts and my absolute favorite thing to do is watch other people’s travel vlogs on youtube. I feel like it doesn’t get any more real than that and it’s so entertaining too!

Lists, Lists, Lists!

I normally am not the type to pre-plan my every move when going on vacation, but for this intercontinental trip I think it’s wise to do a lil’ more planning than usual. So I bought this: a New York City Moleskine. [it also was a great excuse to buy another Moleskine]

20140415-125553.jpgTo be absolutely honest, I had a hard time liking this city notebook, the layout just wasn’t really my thing and it wasn’t giving me that ‘organized’ feel at all.

I had it laying around for a couple of weeks and then I realized that it’s a waste not to use it, so I made some alterations to the notebook, replaced some pages, reorganized it and now I love it.


 

What Do I Use It For? 

Information; Insurance numbers, Dutch Embassy info in case of need, ESTA [travel Visa], addresses from friends, you name it, I got it covered.

Journal; There’s a section where I’ll be writing daily, as I always do when traveling, to remember every detail later.

Maps; This journal comes with several maps, which will probably come in handy.

Day schedules; I am currently making day schedules with things I want to see that day, what train I’m gonna have to take, etc.


How I Schedule

As I said, I normally don’t do this, but I feel like I want to get the most out of this trip because I probably won’t be in NYC for a while after this trip. I don’t stuff my days, because I obviously want to enjoy my time and not run around like a crazy person [not crazier than normal anyway].

Out of the list of things I want to see, I pick 1 thing for that day and then use this amazing app / site called gogobot to see what other attractions are near, this way I save up a lot of time not having to travel the same path multiple times.

Talking about apps, I love this app called TripList, it’s basically just a packing list, but so much more than that.

IMG_0207

Fun Part:When you haven’t packed anything yet, you are at 0% and every time you check ✔ an item the percentage goes up and eventually when all is packed you’re at 100%; and it feels so good!

 

I’ve used it for years now and it makes everything so much more organized.

I hope you enjoyed having a little peek in my preparation work,

Until next time, xo Ray.

3 thoughts on “New York City // preparations

  1. Curious as to what you’re excited to see/do while you’re in NYC. I’m in Chicago, but have been to NYC quite a few times– it can be a very overwhelming place but there’s so much to explore. Bring your polaroid film!

    Like

    • Hey Eric! I am planning to do a blog post about the things I want to see when I’m in New York, so more about that soon. I will bring my polaroid film for sure!
      Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

  2. Pingback: London // preparations | RaySnaps

Leave a Reply

