Kiehl’s Ultra Facial Moisturizer // review

IMG_0973
As it is summer, my skin tends to get a bit more oily in my t-zone than usual and I was running out of moisturizer, so I was looking for a light moisturizer that was still hydrating enough. After a bit of research I decided I wanted to try the Ultra Facial Moisturizer.

This product might work for some people, but unfortunately it did not work me, want to know why? Read more.

IMG_0550

Let me start this review by saying that I really wanted to love this product, I have been wanting to try Kiehl’s products for quite some time now and I was really excited when I got this product.
I love the whole ‘old pharmacy’ feel that Kiehl’s has going on in their boutiques and I love the design of the packaging.

Product: Ultra Facial Moisturizer by Kiehl’s
Price: $26,50 [125 ml]
Texture: Cream
Scent: Unscented
Testing Period: 1 Month
My Skin Type: Combination to Oily

What’s Promised
‘This moisturizer is readily absorbed under the facial skin, leaving the surface area soft and nurtured.
The moisturizing effects of this formulation are continued beneath the surface layers for daytime or anytime moisturizing and texturizing of the skin.
Provides all day ultimate hydration and formulated for all skin types.’

My Thoughts
These claims made me think this would be the perfect moisturizer for my combination/oily skin, boy was I wrong.
First thing I noticed is that it’s hard to blend, it’s a thick cream that doesn’t glide over the skin, which I hoped it would.
Next to that I felt like it just would not absorb into my skin, at all. It just sits on my skin.
One thing I do like about the moisturizer is that it’s unscented, it literally smells like nothing.


IMG_0970

Results
It left my skin sticky and shiny. And when I say shiny, I mean disco ball shiny. People were actually asking of I was sweating, which I wasn’t. I’ve never had my skin looking like this before.
Unfortunately it caused my skin to breakout on my forehead, even though I do not have acne prone skin.

Will I Repurchase?
No. I do want to re-try this product in winter time though, when my skin tends to be more dry and needs more moisture. Who knows, it might even absorb? haha.

Ingredients:
Water, Squalane, PEG-100 Stearate, Glyceryl Stearate, Triethanolamine, Sorbitan Oleate, Imidazolidinyl Urea, Carbomer, Methylparaben, Stearic Acid, Cera Alba (Beeswax), Propylparaben, Myristyl Alcohol, Prunus Armeniaca (Apricot) Kernel Oil, Prunus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Oil, Tocopheryl Acetate, Persea Gratissima (Avocado) Oil, Retinyl Palmitate

3 thoughts on “Kiehl’s Ultra Facial Moisturizer // review

Leave a Reply

